• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Alternative to MalwareBytes

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

WeThePpl

Registered
Greetings! We all love MalwareBytes, it is a wonderful program. I work in IT/help desk and I encounter viruses on a daily basis. One of the main removal tools I use is MB. I do not know how many of you actually read the EULA, but the most recent update forbids computer or help desk operations from using the free software unless a license is purchased for every computer you install it on.

I usually push it off of an ftp and then download the updates on the infected machine(s). Now that I cannot do it... I have to find something that is comparable to it. Some piece of software that will offer the same benefits and thoroughness that MB offers. Does anyone have any thoughts or recommendations?

Thank you for your reply! I really like ComboFix, I occasionally use it. I am concerned with the side effects it may have on the systems, though. I use MB because it has failed me fewer times than I can remember. Would you say it is a good, safe alternative?

I find it to be very thorough, yes. I don't see many infected systems here, though. We usually just flatten them.

I won't stop using malwarebytes until they no longer remove infected items unless I pay. Until then EULA be damned. :p