• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Anyone Run Qubes-OS?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TransformedBG

Just currious if anyone on here runs it...

was looking at system requirements and i know its a resource hog, but it virtualizes everything which looks awesome.

Qubes Release 4.x
Minimum
64-bit Intel or AMD processor (x86_64 aka x64 aka AMD64)
Intel VT-x with EPT or AMD-V with RVI
Intel VT-d or AMD-Vi (aka AMD IOMMU)
4 GB RAM
32 GB disk space

But i was wondering what the best hardware would be to run it, and how hard is it to run a game like WOW, GTA5, or Battlefield?

I was thinking about trying it out on some older hardware that meets those requirements, but i dont know if it will be enough for all i want to do.

https://www.qubes-os.org/

I have no experience with Qubes-OS but am fully qualified to provide unresearched opinions. ;)

I did take a quick look at it and it seems that it is oriented toward security. If that is your primary goal, it seems like it could be a good fit.

You did mention gaming and my uneducated thoughts on that is that the requirements to achieve security could make gaming a challenge. Maybe that's why you're asking. If I were looking for gaming on Linux I think I'd look for a distro with good support for Steam/proton. I've heard proton brings a lot of previously Windows only games to Linux and works well. And that's about the extent of my gaming knowledge.

I'm a little curious why virtualizing everything looks awesome. My preference is for lighter weight solutions like Docker, though those probably don't provide the security that VMs do.

Since it's a free download you could give it a spin to see if it suits you.