• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Are gaming mice and keyboards worth it?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

grimreaper1014

Hi guys,

I just built a new gaming rig. I have never used a gaming mouse or keyboard before in my life. I have been seeing them around for quite some time. I have always just used a cheap Logitech optical mouse for everything along with a cheapo keyboard. I do play a lot of FPS and strategy games like the Age of Empires series, Starcraft 1/2, and things like that. As far as shooters I play Americas Army and I plan to pick up some games like Battlefield 3, COD Black Ops 2, etc. Do gaming mice and keyboards really make a difference in these types of games? I mean I can see having a gaming keyboard or a mouse with a lot of buttons for some of these MMO's or whatever they are called where you are like casting spells and what not and need to assign them to buttons. Will having a high DPI mouse, or a mouse that has 1000Mhz polling going to make a difference in the games I play? Is it more of a gimmick like gold plated Monster HDMI cables? I would like to find out as I need to get another mouse and keyboard. However, I don't want to spend a ton. I don't think a gaming keyboard will make much of a difference in the games I play but could be wrong. If gaming mice and keyboards are worth it could you guys recommend some inexpensive ones for me? Also, is there a certain point where gaming mice become overkill? For example like how they have some that are like 2000 DPI and some that are 5700 DPI?

Thanks,
Rocky