• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Attempting a first time overclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Huserx

Hello All,

I have quite an old amd system, (and therefore expendable if I screw up)
I was thinking if possible I could try overclocking it (it would be my first)

As a learning experience for 1 and to see if I can make it just a little faster for 2..

Now I said it was old lol.. what I have is

A SOYO KT333 Dragon Plus Mainboard
An AMD XP 2800+ 512 cache Processor
1.25G of Kingston DDR400 PC3200 running at DDR333 (PC2700 speeds)
A Nvidia TI-4600 128M AGP 4x/8x (The board only supports 2x/4x)

So what I want to know is if I can do it where to begin what information is needed for guidance, multipliers, voltages for cpu, mem and agp?

I am not a novice when it comes to most hardware terms but I am a complete novice when it comes to overclocking, and understanding multipliers and voltages etc..

It is air cooled, at the moment with a stock cooler, I am looking to replace the stock cooler with a Scythe Katana (1st Gen) soon though.

The memory have copper ram coolers on them although probably not necessary.

The Nvidia PNY GeForce 4 TI-4600 has stock fan cooling also...
(Although the TI4200 it replaced had a fan mod on it after the stock fan died)

So your comments and thoughts (jeering aside) would be appreciated.

Thanks

Huserx

The first thing you need to check is that the PCI clock is locked. A LOT of the older boards don't lock that and it can wreak havoc on your HDD data if it isn't.

Do you happen to know which chipset that board has ...?