• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First time builder looking for some advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bulldozor

Hey there

I need a new gaming rig and i've never really had any good experiences with buying a premade, so i'm seriously concidering this project.

But before i do, i thought i should consult teh pros ;)

I'm looking to build a mid-high end rig, trying to keep the price under 2000 $ but i don't want to cut any corners that could come back to haunt me later on when trying to replace parts.

I will be wanting to do -some- overclocking, but i'm completely new to this, before discovering this forum i thought it would drastically reduce lifetime of your system and keep breaking down on you, so don't think im ready for the big package yet :p

Also note that i live outside of the US so buying things off newegg is unfortunally not a posibillity :(

First off, mobo.

I've heard great things about the Asus Rampage board, however when i check online there's a wide selection of different versions of this board. I have no idea what to aim for.

The one i have in mind is called:
ASUS Rampage III GENE, Socket-1366
mATX, X58, DDR3, 2xPCIe(2.0)x16, SupremeFX X-FI, ROG Connect, SATA 6Gb/s, USB3.0
(http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=604848)
I have no idea what i'm looking for here, what is needed what is overkill?

Links is from a danish hardware store, feel free to use links from different sites.

Quite certain i'll be using an Intel Core I7-950 ish, processor (3,06ghz)
http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=609506

And i'm also sure i'll be using a cooler master HAF case
Something like http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=461645 ish

For PSU i'm cocidering a
Corsair AX 750W PSUATX 12V V2.31, 80 Plus Gold, Modular, 4x 6+2-pin PCIe, 12x SATA

(http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=600425)