• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help on CPU + MBoard combo.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

amf666

Hi. I am brand new to over clocking and decided to give it a go after a bit of research. I decided on a P4 3.2E and an Abit IC7-G motherboard combo to start off, both were bought sencond hand from ebay but were advertised as having light use. After a day of trying I couldnt get the system to boot up at all. Everytime I tried to start window it immediately jumped to a blue stop screen. In desperation I went to PC world (i did say in desperation) and bought an MSI motherboard. The system booted up first time with no problems and ran pretty well. I then decided to have a go at overclocking. Much to my annoyance I found that most of the overclocking adjustments were only available to a northwood chip and the only one available to my prescott was the FSB speed. So, on to my questions. Could the Abit board be faulty or is it possible it could be too old to run a prescott, even though the Abit site says it will. Secondly is there any way of releasing these overclocking features of the mother board for my CPU, I really dont want to have to go out and buy a third board, any and all help would be much appreciated.

Sounds like your abit is jacked, foo

For real.

Abit boards generally are used by overclockers, etc. They dont use them in OEM stuff so..... probably someoen had it before you and pushed it really hard

:(

The Abit IC7 series is a good overclocker and works well with Prescotts. But... you always take a risk buying used components off eBay.

Most IC7 mobos need an updated BIOS that supports the Prescott. Usually the Prescott CPU will work good enough to allow you to flash the BIOS. The first thing I would do it clear the CMOS by using the jumper.