• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hey all you airflow experts!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PDL

If a duct system is constructed to port fresh cool air from outside of the case directly into the intake of the HSF, which would be better
SQUARE duct
or
ROUND duct???

I am reminded that the cold air return on home heating systems uses SQUARE duct!!

i would imagine that round would be best due to shear forces but the man who'd answer this question best would probably be HOOT and i was an hvac tech for 3 yrs and there is not any particular reason that we used square for intakes it just what ever we could cram "and i mean cram" in there and 90 % of the time only about 3 feet of its square "jus 4 looks" then they pipe in
flexduct

The reason the house ducts are square is because of where they are usually run, between joists or studs. The best, highest volume shape for that is square. As Dozier said, nowadays the plenum is square and the rest is flexduct. Hoot is probably the most knowledgeable in this area, but I will hazard a guess. If you are running an axial fan then round is better. If it is a
squirrel cage, like what Hoot has, then square would be better.

dad,