• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with Biostar i45 and RAM issues.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Flakbait

Firstly, my system specs:

Mobo > TPower i45 / American Megatrends x080015
CPU & Cooler > Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / Tuniq Tower 120 CPU Cooler
MEMORY > 2x2gb PC8500 1066 Corsair Dominator DDR2 Ver 1.1 / 2x2gb PC8500 1066 Kingston HyperX DDR2
Power Supply > Tagan BZ series 700w
Video Card > Radeon HD 4870 1024mb
HDD's > 1xSeagate 1TB 3.5" 7200 RPM, 1xSeagate 1.5tb 3.5" 7200 rpm, 1xOCZ Vertex 4 120gb.
BURNERS > LG CD/DVD RW via IDE port
Sound Device > Onboard
USB > Razer Naga, Razer Blackwidow, Razer Megladons.
O/S > Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit. Soon to be 64 bit.

I am fairly new to overclocking, I had tinkered with the bios settings about a year ago when I had a more knowledgeable buddy helping me along, but of course like an idiot I did not write any of the BIOS settings down. That will not be a mistake that I make again. The system was running sound and stable for almost a year, with no issues. Until recently when the system would slow down severely when running multiple applications, etc. So I went out and bought another 4gb of RAM. Long story short, installed the new ram, the computer wouldn't boot past "starting windows" screen afterwards.

The RAM originally running in slots 1 and 3 was 2x2gb PC8500 1066 DDR2 Ver 1.1, Corsair Dominators. Unfortunately for me, I was unable to find any of the exact same RAM, so I purchased 2x2gb PC8500 1066 Kingston HyperX DDR2. I had installed different brands into builds before and never had an issue, I assumed that this instance wouldn't be any different.