• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie help OCing P4

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sarlen

Registered
This is my first time overclocking and I've been sure to read all the necessary documentation on the website (atleast everything that looked relevant), and I've searched the forums for the solution to my particular problem to no avail.

Here's the deal: I have a P4 2.4 OC'd to 2.7 (up to 150). From what I understand, this is a very realistic goal (I'd have liked to go higher, but I just want stability on this now). My heat is fine, and I ran memtester for 9 hours with no errors - but prime95 fails within 5 minutes on blend. I upped my voltage up to 1.7 and nothing changed. I don't think I would need to raise it any higher just for this speed (from what I gather).

Mobo is Asus P4S8X. Mem is 1G Kingston PC2700 DDR, latencies set as high as they'll go (w/ windows still loading) tho again, no memtest errors. AGP slot is Radeon 9200, and I have a Soundblaster Audigy in PCI.

Can anybody suggest some further troubleshooting steps? Maybe something that will pin down my particular problem? All help is appreciated.

- Sarlen