• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking question for athlon 64 3500

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Goldstandard

Hi, this is my first post, and I just got this new socket 939 system with an athlon 3500 and ASUS A8V. (Heck, are there any other mobos for 939...) I got the retail box with a stock heatsink and fan, I used that but removed the preapplied paste, using artic silver 5 instead. I have it at vcore 1.6 oc'd to 2420MHz with 220 fsb. It idles at 47c and in prime95 it runs at 60c. I am new to building computers and overclocking and I was wondering if my temps are safe or if I should get a better fan, because I will stop at this speed for now. I think it is cool to get my cpu up to the level of a 3800 for the price of a 3500, but I am afraid of breaking something if I push too hard.

Ok, cool. Any heatsink recommendations?

One more thing I notice though is that when I use the BIOS of my A8V mobo to manually change vcore I always get an oc failed message on reboot. However, when I leave the vcore setting on auto it works fine, and selects 1.6 which doesn't work when I set it manually. Anyone experience this too?

holy crap!

After setting my vcore back to auto the computer set it automatically to 1.8! I had a cpu temp of 84! I caught it before it was too late though, it is back at default speeds for now, maybe it is a bug in the bios. :eek:

figured it out

It turns out that I had to set the starting cpu speed to get the manual vcore settings to work right. I now have it set at stock 1.5v vcore and the temps are down to 46 idle 56 load. :attn: