• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Project "Don't Screw This Up"

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Godfather1138

So the name comes from my frame of mind the whole time I was working on it. This was my first shot at water cooling a case so I had the virgin nerves.

I have been running a mildly modded Compaq P4 for about 5 years now, and I was getting sick of it. I didn't have the money to build the system I wanted, so I decided to build the system I have the way I wanted.

The case was given to me, so i decided to play with water cooling, and overclocking. I started by placing some orders that would get my 2.8 p4 off of OEM support.

BioStar P4M60-M4 mobo
Crucial CRUCIAL 2g DDR PC3200 (from friend)
Upgraded from a 6 series GeForce to the BFG 7800GS OC
Ultra 500w PSU (from friend)

Then I started slowly ordering WC parts:

Swiftech Apogee GT
Black Ice 240 rad
1/2" line
Iwaki MD-20rzg-2 (thus the need for the pump box)
Double 5.25 resi (free)
DD Fillport

I did have a Tt block rigged on the GPU, but it just caused too many problems/leaks in the system so I ditched it.

Then I got started designing the pump box, and trying to get the logo ready to cut on my buddies plasma table as a puzzle.

DSC01453.jpg

the box template was also cut on the plasma table, and then folded into place with a sheet metal break. Just a little welding, and some finish work is all it took.

DSC01444.jpg
DSC01445.jpg
DSC01446.jpg

Test fit of the Rad block.

DSC01420.jpg

Back from powder coating and logo glued in place on opaque plexi:

DSC01454.jpg
DSC01455.jpg
DSC01456.jpg

::::I didn't realize there was a pic limit so here is pt.2::::

Getting it all together:

DSC01493.jpg
DSC01497.jpg
DSC01499.jpg
DSC01498.jpg
:::still need to block that bleeding light:::
DSC01501.jpg