• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

r9 380 throttling at stock with +20watt limit???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Smalls1369

I've searched around and have not found any useful information... perhaps this is common knowledge. I have limited experience with amd cards and gpu overclocking.

I got a powercolor r9 380 a few months back from a buddy for pretty cheap to replace my gtx570. This card does everything i need it to do at stock speeds 1080p gaming is just fine.

I ventured to start overclocking it because I play some newer titles and thought.. what the hell.. May as well get a few extra frames so long as i can keep temps sub 80s. I bumped the core to 1040 or so and its still at stock voltage however I never seemed to notice an increase in frames but just assumed it was in my head for a while. I got curious today and started watching my temps as i just redid the thermal paste and cleaned the heat sink.. i realized that my core was at 850 to 900. I start messing around with the overclock settings and never got it to stay higher than low 900s even though stock it at 980 and I set it to 1040 and I had increased the power limit to +20!

This card is constantly throttling to a lower than stock clock no matter what settings i put it on. Is there a work around to bump this power limit up? I know it is not my temps as no matter what i cannot get it to rise about mid 70s and usually when I play csgo with the frame limiter on it stays in the mid 60s.