• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Shopping for a new WiFi Router

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Puer Aeternus

WiFi Noob here....
My wired connection is about 30-55Mb/s on average.
2200476698.png
My Girlfriends WiFi connection is about 3- 10Mb/s as well as my Tablet. I assume our roommates connection is about the same.
I am using a Dlink DIR 615

her score via wifi
2200559273.png
(the router has a strong signal..full bars and is situated right below her office on the first floor...maybe 15 feet) after testing her pc..i want to shoot my router!

W/ out breaking the bank, i'd like to buy a Router that has wifi to match my direct connection and better handle 3 users. I do not notice any slowdowns however my girlfriend is always complaining about the internet being slow.
the D-Link DIR-655, Xtreme N Gigabit Router looks enticing if only for the price but I do not want to waste my money and get similar performance as the dir 615.
Thanks

(the router was initially bought for a bachelor apt and just for my pc and tablet...now that we have a house...the router needs to be shot...multiple times)

Last edited:
The original DIR 615 was a piece of crap that worked far better as a doorstop than a router. I had one for a few days :) If you don't mind not having 5GHz, try to find a cheap WRT350N with DD-WRT on eBay. One of those has been reliable for several years at my house.

These threads are coming up left and right lately... Check in this section for more info while you wait for replies.

any desire to put ddwrt on your current router?

Doesn't seem right that your getting those speeds