• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

unRAID server help. OSX

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mikelaevlaev

Hello

This is my first time using unraid and I am having a hell of a time. I formatted my flash drive properly and get to the tower login screen then I am having problems from there. I have an ethernet cable hooked up from the server to my Macbook. The server shows up in my network settings "using DHCP" gives me an IP address 169.254.213.173. I can ping the server and it gives me a response. This thread: http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=1347.0 , seems to be the same issue, but I have done everything that it suggests ie changed my IP manually to 192.168.0.1 and changed this up on the network.cfg file, but still no response when I type the IP into the address bar. I didn't fill in anything for the Gateway because I don't think I have one because the server is hooked up only to my Macbook and not to my router.

What am I doing wrong here? I am getting very frustrated. Can someone help me?

Thanks
Mike

Ok, you have just one cable from the MacBook to the server? No other net connections? (Router? Hub? Switch?). If not, you may need what's called a crossover cable, not a regular ethernet cable for the two computers to talk to each other directly without a the use of a router or switch. Each computer needs it's own IP, Subnet Mask and router number to function.

The 169.254.213.173 number looks like a random number generated by the Mac itself in the event it does not get any DHCP info from another source. Which means you are not getting any address assigned by a router's DHCP.