• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what do people mean with divideR?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DaRky4YoU

im totally new to overclocking and want to overclock but the only thing i dont understand is a so called divider, how do i use it and where do i get it, or is it at my bios??

thx, also thx for all the help i already had i really appriciate it

Well I'll need more info in order to help you make use of the divider... specifically what are your system specs -- cpu, memory speed and brand, motherboard model, power supply brand and wattage, etc. Either way, the divider is something that is set in the BIOS, usually in the Advanced section. If you have an Asus board, it's in the JumperFree section, called DRAM Frequency. If you have an Abit board, it's in the Advanced section and is displayed according to ratio.

==================
Dividers Explained
==================

A divider refers to the ratio at which the memory runs with the Front Side Bus (FSB). To understand how dividers work, you'll need to understand some terminology.

DDR - Double Data Rate. Any DDR memory activates output on the rising and falling edge of the system clock. This effectively doubles the data that gets processed by the memory and gives us its name, DDR. For example, PC3200 DDR 400MHz memory modules are actually 400/2 = 200MHz.

Multiplier - Each CPU has a specific multiplier. On Intel chips multipliers cannot be changed. 2.4's have a multi of 12. 2.6's have x 13. 2.8's are x 14. 3.0's have a x 15 multiplier.