• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Wireless Networking Security

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

macklin01

Computational Oncologist / Biomathematician / Mode
A Beginner’s Guide to Securing a Wireless Network
By Paul Macklin (a.k.a. macklin01)
Submitted on September 24, 2003 to Overclockers.com

Disclaimer:
I am by no means an expert at networking or network security. I am writing this article as an overview of the techniques I have learned that a relative novice at wireless networking can easily implement to improve wireless networking security with minimal confusion. It should be understood as a starting point on the quest for greater wireless networking security, not the complete solution.

Rather than help with the actual setup of your network, this guide instead focuses on the configuration of the various security options that may be available to you.

Introduction:
I recently set up a wireless home network for my apartment. In my previous apartment, I had strung up a simple 10/100 hub and nailed some cable-holders along the perimeter of the walls to hold the cables. However, I didn’t think the apartment owners in Orange County, CA, would appreciate this sort of option, so I decided to go wireless. It has been a tremendous improvement for aesthetics and simplicity, but security is an issue.