Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 47
  1. #1
    Member technoViking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA

    I need to block TORRENTS! Port ranges?

    Hi guys, yes oddly enough I am trying to BLOCK TORRENTS.

    My roommate who is a friend of mine but just doesn't realize he is screwing all of us with his torrent downloading. I told him, THROTTLE YOUR DOWNLOADS. He's like well I need to keep a high upload ratio or they will kick me from their site. I'm like thats great but I got work to do and your keeping me from doing my work.

    We literally can't stay on the internet longer than 10 mins before our router blows up and we all lose internet. The internet is fine when we block him with a password but then he bitches.

    So I want to block all the ports torrents might be shared downloaded. Do you guys know which ones I should block? OR how to stop torrent downloading so he stops screwing our network? I can totally block his whole mac address but he could easily tell that.

    So I want to block all the ports he could be using for torrent uploading/downloading. Uploading is what is kiilling the network I beleive, downlaoding just bogs the network down but uploading totally breaks the network becuase he won't throttle his uploads.


    Thanks,

    PS: I have a D-LInk Dir-628
    Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
    Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
    Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
    Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
    Sound
    : .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
    PSU: .........Enermax 460W
    Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
    Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

    One must remember...
    The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
    The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!

  2. #2
    You can't fire me, I have tenure!
    MODERATOR
    JoT's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    California
    Heatware Profile
    To my knowledge, torrent programs can use nearly any port--Comcast tried to block Bittorrent and failed (too many ways to sidestep the blocks). Do you guys do anything other than web and email? You could block nearly every port but 80 and the various email and https ports.
    "There it is, ladies and gentlemen: the most expensive car in the world, dressed up like a mouse."

    Why yes, I do have Heat!


    ---
    Welcome to the forums. Please read all of the forum rules. Thank you =) --- What mods are active that I can PM my concerns to?

  3. #3
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Smoothwall + aggressive QOS?

    I can go full out (5000+ connections, 15 downloads, full upload/download bandwidth) and my games only get approx 100ms more ping.

    This way you both win.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  4. #4
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Smoothwall 3.0 + QoS will be able to throttle it down. It will also eliminate the need for a router that constantly crashes because of high load. This may not be something you want to do, however, you might check in the router for some QoS settings that may be able to help.

    I use Smoothwall myself, but to keep torrents running as fast as possible and not slow down web browsing. I would get high pings, in the 800ms range, without. Properly configured, pings drop to 60-80ms, keeping web browsing nice and fast, and the torrents running as best as they can.
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  5. #5
    Member technoViking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Sorry I'm a noob, whats QoS exactly? THanks for the help by the way!

    Currently I have the following set on my router:
    Enable SPI
    Nat End (UDP/TCP) Point filtering enabled (Port and address restricted)



    Undr QOS engine I Have:
    Eanble traffic shapping
    Automatic Uplink Speed
    Measured Uplink Speed: 10273 kbps
    Manual Uplink Speed: 128 kbps << Selected Transmission Rate <--this is grayed out
    Connection Type: Auto detect
    QOS ENGINE SETUP:
    Enable QoS Engine checked
    Automatic classification checked
    Dynamic fragmentation: Checked


    But under the QOS ENgine rules, there arn't any set.
    Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
    Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
    Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
    Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
    Sound
    : .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
    PSU: .........Enermax 460W
    Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
    Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

    One must remember...
    The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
    The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by technoViking View Post
    Sorry I'm a noob, whats QoS exactly? THanks for the help by the way!
    Quality of service. It basically gives priority to whatever you want.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #7
    Member technoViking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Ah thanks,

    So I found an option under the d-link firmware that says Appliation Rules....
    And it has an option name called BitTorrent, I clicked it and it filled in the following:
    Port trigger:6969
    Firewall: 6881-6889

    So does this mean its going to BLOCK these ports or actually open these ports?

    It seems strange the firmware would have built in functinoality to OPEN ports for torrent downloading but it could be.
    Application Rules

    This option is used to open single or multiple ports on your router when the router senses data sent to the Internet on a "trigger" port or port range. Special Applications rules apply to all computers on your internal network.
    Last edited by technoViking; 01-17-09 at 02:40 PM.
    Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
    Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
    Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
    Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
    Sound
    : .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
    PSU: .........Enermax 460W
    Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
    Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

    One must remember...
    The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
    The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!

  8. #8
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by technoViking View Post
    Ah thanks,

    So I found an option under the d-link firmware that says Appliation Rules....
    And it has an option name called BitTorrent, I clicked it and it filled in the following:
    Port trigger:6969
    Firewall: 6881-6889

    So does this mean its going to BLOCK these ports or actually open these ports?

    It seems strange the firmware would have built in functinoality to OPEN ports for torrent downloading but it could be.
    Application Rules

    This option is used to open single or multiple ports on your router when the router senses data sent to the Internet on a "trigger" port or port range. Special Applications rules apply to all computers on your internal network.
    I'm not familiar with that router but if it's under the QoS settings I would think it would let you set it to a lower priority. If there's a Web or internet setting, setting that to high will guarantee it's above bittorrent traffic.
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  9. #9
    Epic Fail Guy JamesXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    By the way, he may not be using 6881-6889, he could be using any number of ports, EG utorrent randomizes ports.


    Try disable UPNP port mapping so the computer cannot tell the router to open a port.
    i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
    Thermalright Macho 120
    ASRock Z77 Pro4
    8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
    128GB Samsung 830 SSD
    EVGA GTX770 ACX
    EVGA Supernova 750G2
    Corsair 650D

  10. #10
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    I don't think you'll be able to do QoS (at least not effectively) with your router. All that router gives is a selection of local and remote ports and IP adresses, and a manually entered priority for that IP/port set. Good QoS would allow you to simply select traffic type "P2P" and priority "low", or something similar.
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  11. #11
    gangaskan's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Lorain, ohio
    i would just set 80 / 443 at highest priority, that way whenever you want to get onto the net QoS would pop it up on top
    Main Rig: [Silverstone TJ06 painted hammer black] [Intel E6550 3.2 ghz 1.35v ] [4 gigs Gskil] [Asus P5k Premium Wifi/ap] [Soundblaster Audiguy ZS platinum] [ATI 3560 pro] [enhiem 1250 pump, Swiftech Storm, primoflex tubing, mcres micro, maze 4 gpu block][ Windows Vista x64 Ultimate sp1]
    HTPC: [LianLI V300B] [Opty 165 1.88 ghz] [Thermalright XP90] [2 gb OCZ Platinum DDR400] [Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Music] [8600GT Stock] [Windows Vista Home Premium sp1]
    Server: [Rocketfish Tower] [c2d E6600][Scythe Ninja Jr] [4 gigs Gskil ddr2 800][ATI X850XT ] [Windows Vista B]
    Network: Cisco 851W uptime: forever
    Heatware

  12. #12
    hi, just want to ad my 2p worth:
    i dont know anything about smoothwall, but if you could prioritise traffic for important stuff you do then thats a good thing!
    as something simple, you could disable uPnP on the router, this will prevent his torrent program for opening a port inbound to his machine and will prevent him downloading. if he cant create inbound connections, and utorrent uses the same port outbound then he wont be able to upload either. at least not very well.

    if he is using excuses like "i need to keep a high upload so i can download from them".. rubbish,. he deserves a slap. any free bit torrent will let you change your settings. he can even set a schedule so it only runs when everyone is asleep.
    Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P || AMD Phenom II 965 BE 3.8GHz @1.475v (200x19) || 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 || Corsair H70 CPU cooler || Corsair AX850 PSU
    1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB Cache || MSI 560GTX Ti Frozr II (Slightly OC 1GHz)


    Crunching for Einstein@Home

  13. #13
    MARCI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Folding for T32 in Lawrenceville, Ga
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Aye, set a REASONABLE upstream cap (i use 64KB/s (512kb/s)) and just upload 24/7.. I use about 25&#37; outbound bandwidth 24/7.. Makes it transparent for the other 6 pcs running on the network.
    My Heat
    C2D E8400 @3.6 1.184vCore
    GIGABYTE EP45-DS3L
    8 GB G.SKILL PC8500
    MSI GTX260 (216) OC 896MB folding 24/7
    CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX
    Folding User Stats

  14. #14
    Member Rich'[ard]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melb, AUS
    whoa. for once we are discussing torrents yay!
    yes, can't you just set an upload limit like MARCI said? i'm sure he won't get kicked from the site then...or if he's using Azuerus or something. there is a plugin that can change the speeds of download/upload at certain times. for me, i set the upload full speed overnight while i cap it at 50kb/s or so during the day. when ppl are using the internet.
    яι˘н.
    Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
    Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
    Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
    Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
    Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
    Power Corsair HX650
    Case Corsair 300R
    Windows w7 64bit
    Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
    HP Folio 13 Ultrabook

  15. #15
    Member technoViking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    He can set the upload limit on this program the thing is HE WONT set the upload limit. He's being such a girl about this, he's like well I need to upload more than I download because my ratio is low.

    All he has to do is like you said, simply throttle the upload to like 30kb/sec but he won't even do that, it will let it get up to like almost 1 meg/sec and thats when our network will go down.

    So unless I can do it remotely through the router, then I'm not sure how to stop him.
    Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
    Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
    Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
    Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
    Sound
    : .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
    PSU: .........Enermax 460W
    Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
    Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

    One must remember...
    The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
    The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!

  16. #16
    MARCI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Folding for T32 in Lawrenceville, Ga
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    save 2 versions of the router config on your local machine, one of which bans his mac from the router...

    swap them out as needed
    My Heat
    C2D E8400 @3.6 1.184vCore
    GIGABYTE EP45-DS3L
    8 GB G.SKILL PC8500
    MSI GTX260 (216) OC 896MB folding 24/7
    CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX
    Folding User Stats

  17. #17
    Member ziggo0's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    La Porte, Indiana
    Who pays for the internet?

  18. #18
    Member Rich'[ard]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melb, AUS
    Quote Originally Posted by ziggo0 View Post
    Who pays for the internet?
    haha! good point.
    яι˘н.
    Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
    Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
    Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
    Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
    Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
    Power Corsair HX650
    Case Corsair 300R
    Windows w7 64bit
    Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
    HP Folio 13 Ultrabook

  19. #19
    solution: punch him in the face repeatedly until the upload speed is capped.
    Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P || AMD Phenom II 965 BE 3.8GHz @1.475v (200x19) || 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 || Corsair H70 CPU cooler || Corsair AX850 PSU
    1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB Cache || MSI 560GTX Ti Frozr II (Slightly OC 1GHz)


    Crunching for Einstein@Home

  20. #20
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    If he continues to use 100&#37; of the available upstream bandwidth, tell him that he must pay at least 50% of the full price of the bill, since he is using a full half of the connection. If he is then also using 25% or 50% of the downstream side, his part of the bill will be jacked up to 62.5% or 75%.
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •