• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3days and off

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Norcalsteve

Ok, the time has come, and I am done wussy footing around... after this p6904 in 3 days, the rig is going off line... The wife told me I have to make money before I can spend money... and I have not yet advertized my parts, which will set me back a week or two... then I gotta buy my new parts, and build it into my HAF932 (I am a novice modder with minimal tools too)... so I figure about 4 weeks or so, with zero PPD... But hey, I will be up for the challenge! I just hope these 4p at least keep 200K+PPD after the Bigadv change.

I am gonna max out with the 4x16core (6272), on the Tyan S8812WGM3NR (as that is the only board avalible I have found sofar, Newegg) and 16 sticks of G.Skill Ripjaws, Model: F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM. for cooling I am going to get 4 waterblocks and just use my current radiators/pump/res

Thoughts? Motivational words?

The project needs a name ... like ... the Protein Pwnage PC...

Sounds like a great build, Steve. I believe the 6272 is a great choice for the cpu's.

If you need to match threads or screws, check whether they're metric, instead of SAE (English) sizes.

Be patient with the necessary modding on the case. The one hand tool that I've found very useful in my modding for the 4p, was an automatic punch - you press down hard with one hand, and at the bottom of the press, it pops a center punch mark for you. Since it fits right through the standoff holes on the mobo, it worked like a charm. I just couldn't see having a hammer swing downward toward the 4p mobo even at a center punch - nope!