• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD 965 BE overclocking.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tfistere

Just joined overclockers so I'm new to the whole forum thing. My system specs are:
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB
500GB 7200RPM HDD
1 TB 7200RPM HDD
XFX Double-D 6870

I'd like to overclock my CPU to 4GHz. I've stably gotten it to that speed at a 1.475 voltage in AMD overdrive. However when I run the stress test in Overdrive the temperatures starting pushing close to 60 degrees C. Is that too hot for gaming temps on the stock fan cooler? I'm looking at liquid cooling as an option. Is that something I should consider if I plan to do any overclocking?

Welcome!

To your list of components, please add info about the make and model of your case and the make ans watt rating of your PSU. Also, What is the speed rating of your GSkill ram? 1333? 1600? 1866?

Then please download and install the following reporting, monitoring and stress testing tools: CPU-z, HWMonitor and Prime95. Don't us AMDOverdrive as an overclocking tool or a stress tester. Use the bios. We'll help you with that. Use Prime95 to stress test. AMDOD is a wimpy, inadequate stress tester.

You cannot expect to overclock with the stock CPU cooler. Don't waste your time our ours trying to.

My case is a COOLER MASTER Storm Enforcer SGC-1000-KWN1 Black SECC / ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower. My power supply is a Prudent Way PWI-PR550 550 watt. RAM speed is DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666). I have CPU-Z, GPU-Z, HWMonitor, and Prime95 installed.

good now put all of that into your signature so it is easily viewable. 60c is pretty high i never liked anything above 55. Are you on the stock CPU cooler?