• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Phenom II x6 1055T Thuban 2.8ghz Overclocking Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AntBoogy90

Registered
Okay, so i'm pretty new with overclocking.. i recently overclocked my gpu and things have been going smooth since. I wanted to play Everquest 2.. and soon found out that its engine relies on the cpu rather than the gpu, so my card is worthless for this game. I experienced a lot of graphical lag, and after a while i decided i wanted to overclock my cpu.. but that could cause my mobo to fry if i do it wrong, so here i am looking for some guidance to possibly build and help me with overclocking my cpu. I'm also wondering if my mobo is good for overclocking this particular processor; my motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H.

I overclocked just a tad bit using the BIOS mostly and AMD Overdrive.. i got my cpu to go from 2.8ghz to 3.15ghz.. and performance significantly increased on my computer. I turned off Turbo Core technology, still have my cpu locked, and i disabled the Cool & Quiet technology as well. I'm stress testing as i type this, and i'm receiving temps of around 70°C using OCCT and Core Temp.. is that good? When my cpu is idle, i receive 48°C to 50°C. I'd like to add that it's pretty damn cold in my basement too lol, and that everything is stock fans for cooling.. i have a Cooler Master case (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119227). Anything i might need for cooling, i'm willing to shell out some cash. If there's anything i need to put up for you guys to help me, i'll be more than glad to provide.

My specs are as follows..

Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1055T Thuban 2.8ghz (3.15ghz now)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB x2 crossfired and overclocked