• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asrock 970 Extreme4 - Fan control problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

isti84

Dear Fellow Forum Members!

I'm new in this forum, but i have some experience with AMD products.

I recently bought a motherboard entitled Asrock 970 Extreme4. I have to because my older motherboard died. I had an ASUS M4A88T-V EVO. I really loved it, but has old SATA and USB connectors.

Never the less, I put a PhenomII 1055T into the new motherboard from my old one. I was happy, everything is in place. I put my stock AMD heat sink on with fresh thermal grease on the CPU's cap. I started my rig. It flashes some debug information on the debug LED's. And it is alive!

The system started fine, the windows survived the motherboard change. I tried some games to test the stability of the system.

The first impressions was good, but the second impression was not. The stock fan was screaming!

The automatic fan control was disabled. So I enabled it. But the scream didn't stopped. The fan control ran the fan at 6000 rpm! I tried lowering the fan speed, but the asrock has some funny thought with the fan control naming and effect. At my old motherboard the fan operates well.

I tried to adjust the fan speed with the provided overclocking program. But it didn't help.

So I'm stuck with an 800 MHz phenom II at 48 C.

axtu.jpg

I'm really confused, and I'm hopeless. Can you help me with this?

Sincerely,
István

Based on the temperature, throttling, and fan speed I'd say you're not getting good contact between the heatsink and the IHS

Thanks for the quick reply. I reassembled the heat sink. The effect is the same. :(

Can you explain me IHS?

IHS is the integrated heat spreader, it's that silver thing on top of the CPU.