• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Checking RAM Speeds

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

essartee4

Registered
Question. I noticed my Ram speed was low in CPU-Z.

I went into my BIOS, went under "OC tweaker" and saw that my "DRAM Config. was at 1333"

I changed my DRAM Config to DDR3-1600 under "OC tweaker"

Is this the correct way to get the rated 1600mhz out of my ram? How do i know if its running at 1600?

Screenshots:

ram1.png

ram2.png

That first screenshot shows you your speed (divided by two). You adjusted it correctly. You may also need to edit the timings and voltage to your ram's rated settings.

That first screenshot shows you your speed (divided by two). You adjusted it correctly. You may also need to edit the timings and voltage to your ram's rated settings.
Elaborate? im very new to this.

The timings are fine, since they match the XMP-1600 settings shown on the SPD tab of CPU-Z, which are currently at 9-9-9-24-2T. And you can view the current DRAM voltage in the AXTU software that came w/ your board. It's located under the Hardware Monitor tab, and should read 1.5V w/ the DRAM frequency at DDR3-1600.

Last edited:
On AXTU, I do see the voltage @ 1.5V, however do not see DRAM frequency at DDR3-1600 listed.

ram.png

the ss of cpu-z the mem tab is at 800 which is 800x2= 1600Mhz is what your mem speed is at

You will likely have to change your memory timings.

All of this should be done in the bios.

As far as memory temps, they don't really matter. DDR3 runs very cool and unless you are dumping huge amounts of voltage into them they will be running cool to the touch.

For stability testing, you can run memtest if you want to be super sure that your memory is stable. personally, I just do a run or two of Superpi 32m. Good enough for what I do.