• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

E6420 + DDR2 800 = 1:1 OC'ing ? (OC n00b!)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Morvak

Disabled
Hey all! Gonna copy and paste this from my other threads:

The more I read the more I learn that the E6420 can reach higher FSB and OC easier than the E6600 and possibly the E6850. Am i right or am i right? ;-)

I'm totally new to all this OC stuff.

I'm looking to build a reasonably priced gaming rig that doesn't need extreme cooling and isn't more than $1500. I won't be running SLI. I'm not worried about upgrading to Penryn and DDR3 anytime soon so I don't need P35. When I go to get a Penryn I'll upgrade my board to the latest revision of the X38 or who knows what and DDR3 then. Not worried about building for the future.

I'd like this machine to last me 1-2 years with decent framerate gaming with my GTS 8800 640 until 2 years or so when I upgrade to same-price G90 or so.

- E6420
- GTS 8800 640k
- 150 raptor ..or.. two 7200.10 80gb Seagates Raid 0
- P182
- Corsair 520HX
- Thermalright 120 extreme (do I need this if clocking to 3ghz or 3.2?)
- mb? not sure yet.. but something that will work perfectly for what i'm looking to do - I guess 965P or DS3

Now my memory:

- Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb 800

All I wanna do is increase my FSB so that I don't have to do 4:3 ratios or whatever or mess with memory timings too much.

I still can't wrap my brain around the math behind OC'ing. :bang head

I do plan to run Vista on this machine too.

Is this memory perfect for my needs?

If you get pc6400 (800) and e6420, set memory to cpu 1:1 ratio, then you won't have problem increasing cpu fsb upto 400 for effetive oc of 3.2ghz. At this point memory will run at stock speed. If you wish to go higher, in 1:1 ratio, it will depend on memory oc ability.