• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Time Computer Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jcharles14

It is my first time building my own computer. I am going to be using it for our security camera system.

My Main question is the motherboard. I cannot decide between these two.

Please help me decide

GigaByte

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007R9CRGW...UTF8&colid=61F5NAWWXSHB&coliid=I3OP8RQDW0E9OE

Intel

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0051UY1QI...=UTF8&colid=61F5NAWWXSHB&coliid=IOTVESQHRNJPC

Here are the types of items I am buying

1. Cooler Master HAF 912 Computer Case

2. Intel Core i7-3770 3.4 GHZ LGA 1155

3. Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 600w power supply

4. LG Electronics CD/DVD Drive

5. NZXT Aperture M Card Reader

6. Western Digital 1TB Hard Drive

The NZXT Card Reader has 3.0 ports on the front. It requires to be plugged in to a 3.0 header. I would like to have the 3.0 functionality on this reader.

So far I am leaning towards the Intel motherboard, but it does not have a usb 3.0 header.

I would appreciate any other advice I can get.

You're gonna use a 70$ motherboard on a 350$ chipset?

And what do you mean "Security camera system"?

You're gonna use a 70$ motherboard on a 350$ chipset?

And what do you mean "Security camera system"?

Yes because I'm trying to keep my build under budget. I am also not looking for a real fancy hyped up motherboard .

I have some software that runs some wireless ip cameras.
I need a good CPU to support these so that's why I chose the i7-3770 and also because the software program I have listed i7 as one of the recommended options

Yes because I'm trying to keep my build under budget. I am also not looking for a real fancy hyped up motherboard .

I have some software that runs some wireless ip cameras.