• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FX-8350,ASUS CROSSHAIR V,G-SKILL 1866 32GB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

baahoot

Registered
This is my first build in a few years. Last time was in 1999. things sure changed!
First thing is the base build as follows:
mobo Crosshair V, CS:RD9x0 Rev1.xx SB910/950 Bios 1703
CPU FX-8350
RAM G-SKILL 32Gb 1866MHz 10-11-10-30 L10 V1.5
water cooler h-80

I have clocked it to 5.15GHz just over heated under load.
I do have it @ 4.5 now with good heat spread.
FSB:DRAM 1:4 want to have better i just don't understand all the seting in the bios for this board could some one help? Also the temps look good right now
low max
cpu40 54
mobo 33-35
sb 39-42
nb 55-61
and i will get some cpu-z up here soon
Is there any one that could help out with this set-up ??

That's a very good overclock with only a Corsair H80 cooler.

What have you been using to stress test for stability? Our standard tool for that around here is the Prime95 blend test which we advise passing successfully for at least two hours before we concluded a system is stable.

Are you overclocking with the CPU multiplier or the HT Reference (we often call it the FSB but technically that is no longer correct) or some combination of both?

Also, you reference the CPU temp. Nowadays we take that to mean the CPU socket temp but there is another temp we need to know about which is just as important and that is the Package temp (also referred to as "core temp"). If you use HWMonitor (non pro version) to monitor your temps and voltages it will display both plus a multitude of other valuable temps and voltages. HWMonitor is another standard tool around here.

please do your downloading of hardware monitor and prime 95 from the vendor sites, we have seen a few get the crabs a time or two.