• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FX6300 Overclocking: Help a noob out

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bmilcs

Hello,

I've been browsing through the AMD stickies as told, but I could still use some help stabilizing my overclock.

To start off, I'm new to overclocking. This is the first computer where I'm attempting to do it. My current settings, so I thought, were "stable" but I never did any real testing :p. I've been enjoying playing World of Warcraft and Team Fortress 2 at 4.5 ghz.

Then, I purchased BF3. And the crashes began.

So, I downloaded Prime95, Core Temp, and started the balanced testing. I am afraid I'm going to push the voltage too far and overheat too much. Needless to say, Workers 5 & 6 fail within 5 minutes of testing.

What is the max temperature I should allow my cpu to hit? When should I say enough is enough voltage wise?

Thanks you for the help,
Bryan

Okay well first may I ask what your cooling your CPU with. Also what are your temps like? What MOBO are you using and what PSU do you have? How many volts are you pushing?

Okay well first may I ask what your cooling your CPU with. Also what are your temps like? What MOBO are you using and what PSU do you have? How many volts are you pushing?

Idle temps at my current settings which aren't stable are around 25c. When I was stresstesting, before crashing, they'd reach around 60c.

CPU: FX6300 4.5 ghz, 1.416v
MB ASRock 970 EXTREME 3
GPU Gigabyte GTX 660
MON: ASUS VG248QE
HS CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
PSU: Rosewill 600W

It could be that you need to add a little bit of voltage. Try 1.5v and test it... Or you might just down click your CPU... Just because of the 212... The VRM get really got on AMD....

1.5v is fine? I don't want to push too far. That's a safe volt to remain at?