• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

H115i Poor cooling?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

aaawew

Hi,

i7 8700k
4.7GHZ
1.285VCore
LLC 3 (Under full load in prime 95 CPUZ reports 1.272 Corsair Link reports 1.27)
I am seeing temps of 85C after only 30 minutes of prime 95 (Small FFT for max heat)

My corsair H115i is mounted in the top of a Corsair 750D Airflow edition
the fans mounted in pull at the top of the case (pulling air into the case)
the ambient temp in my basement is 19C or less
the loop water temp is 29.1C I do have the fan curve set to quiet so at this temp the fans RMP are only 1600

I am new to AIO liquid coolers but I was expecting better temps from this, I was just wondering if this is to be expected or not?

Thanks

Have you set a manual overclock at 4.7 or is it the turbo clock thing that is doing that? If it is the turbo clock then you should set manual settings. I’ve read a few things that say this would probably reduce v core and temps a bit. People are getting 5ghz at 1.29 vcore so I would say that is definitely something to look at.

Another thing to note is that this chip runs hot anyway, I have seen many people post that running at 5ghz with the processor de-lidded they are getting 70 degree temps whilst gaming. Obviously everyone’s cooking differs.

Also have you tried re-applying thermal paste and re seating the cooler?

I will be testing more tonight, if I bump up the fan speed it's loud ;)but I will test it. I was just expecting better temperatures with liquid cooling, I used the thermal paste that comes on the H115i I have some IC diamond I can reset it with. I thought I could throw 1.35 Vcore and not overheat the CPU with a H115i. Do better fans and better thermal paste make that much of a difference with temperatures?