• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help a newbie Overclock his AMD 8350

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Blacksun

Hello everyone.
I will be completely honest with you. I am complete noob when overclocking is concerned.
So I turn to you for advice.
When I first built this pc, I ordered a CPU cooler because I had plans to overclock the cpu anyway, (see pc specs in my signature).
Now I think the time has come, to squeeze every ounce of power I can get from this CPU.
I have already read some guides and went ahead and removed the power saving settings in the bios.
I have gathered info from CPU Z, HW and the bios, compiling screenshots which you can find at this link: Software wise, i already have Prime95 at the ready.
I know that for extreme overclocking liquid cooling is needed. My objective is getting a modest and stable overclock on my modest air cooler.
But I wish to do it carefully, and that is why I ask your help.
Thank you very much in advance. :)

Welcome again Blacksun.

For overclocking youre FX 8350 three things will define you're limits.

1. Cooling - The Noctua you have is a good cooler and should not limit you for a moderate OC - GOOD

2. Motherboards Powersection (a.k.a VRM/Mosfet's)-MSI is notoriously bad for overclocking AMD CPU's (especially the 8 cores). At least you DO have one of their better boards so it may limit you, but it's still possible. The MSI 990FX GD65 had an 8+2 Powerphase and it's heatsinked. - OK

3. Silicon Lottery-Most AMD CPU's are fairly good at overclocking, but there are exceptions. This is always a crap shoot and you won't know until you start putting the nails to it so to speak.