• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help: Overclocking FX 8150

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Wazza92

Registered
Hi all,
I am quite new to overclocking and have been having some problems at achieving a respectable overclock speed.
I know some basics to overclocking as i am currently running 4.2ghz at 1.375v.
However when i start getting anywhere higher than this i struggle to get either a stable system or fail to have windows boot.
I have disabled core boost, K8cool C1E etc but am not to sure what to do.
Im not to familiar with DRAM timing and voltage or the NB frequencies and volts.
I have read some guides on this forum however i still cannot work it out.

help would be much appreciated :)

Model- GA990FXA-D3 - CPU FX 8150 black edition 4.2ghz @ 1.375v - cooler Gamer Storm Cooler Assassin - G.Skill RipjawsX 2x4Gb - Asus HD 7870 Direct CUII 2gb - Coolermaster RS 700W - Coolermaster 690 II advanced Exhaust 2x140mm 1x120mm, Inlet 1x120mm 1x140mm

Last edited:
You also need to disable C6 and APM if that isn't already included in "etc."

Have you checked package and CPU socket temps? High temps are one of the main causes of instability. What are you cooling the CPU with? I hope you aren't trying to overclock this thing with the stock cooler. Please add that info to your list of system components. And in that list did you notice you say you have an "FX 3150" instead of an FX 8150?

But just looking at the meager info you have given us about your bios settings it looks like low CPU voltage is the culprit. You aren't going to get very far on an overclock (not stable, anyway) on 1.375 volts to the CUP. And how are you overclocking this, with the FSB or the multiplier or a combination of both?