• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I7 920 D0 Bundle - Stable for supplier at 4.0GHz, but not for me at home?!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jackhulk

Registered
Hello

This is my bundle....

OVERCLOCKED Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (SLBEJ) 2.66GHz @ 4.00GHz.
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 Intel X58 Motherboard.
Patriot Viper 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800C8 1600MHz DDR3
Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 CPU Cooler

Rest of the PC is nothing out of the ordinary, 2 writers, 2 SATA drives, a floppy, case fans etc and that's pretty much it.

I have no experience in OC'ing, but wanted to make the most of my new PC, so decided to purchase a pre-clocked bundle. Even since then it has been nothing but hassle.

PC blue screens after just a few mins or Prime95 / OCCT etc. At first I suspected it could be due to my PSU (Nesteq NA5201 520W) not being up to the job, so I purchased a Zalman ZM850-HP. PC still blue screened after just a few mins of stress.

Kept an eye on temps, all fine and within range.

I've sent this bundle back to the supplier twice. Each time the technician has assured me that its running stable at 4.0GHz. He even reckons the CPU was changed just in case. However, each time it comes back and blue screens for me after just a few mins at 4.0GHz. 3.8GHz is fine.

Driving me nuts. Tester also seems stumped at this point and so has asked me to return the bundle again. However I really don't think I can put up with more downtime, just for him to claim its stable, only to come back to me and blue screen again.

I have since changed my PSU to the Corsair HX 850. My bundle is now (apart from graphics card and hard drive) idential to that of the technicians, plus my temps are lower than his and yet it STILL blue screens.