• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

installed new memory and CMOS reset. need help to restore my overclock.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

alex1380

I recently installed new memory modules and they work great but when I tried to turn on XMP in the bios, it caused my pc to have a boot failure and it reset the cmos. before this my processor was overclocked to 3.82 ghz with my old memory but after installing the new memory, the most i can get out of the pc without it crashing is about 3.2 ghz (160 BCLK x 20). I think that it may be that I must increase the voltage in order to increase the speed but I am a near complete rookie at this (my previous OC was done by the company I ordered the parts from). I have tried using the BIOS but that resulted in almost total failure so I have been trying with the gigabyte easy tune 6 utility and that was where I managed to get to 3.2 ghz up from the stock 2.66 ghz. I can also only manage to get my memory running around 1280 mhz instead of the 1600 it is advertised as in addition to me having different latency settings that advertised. I have included some pictures of my cpu-z results and my current settings on easy tune 6. If anyone could tell me what I am doing wrong or which settings I should be attempting to change to get a higher and more stable overlock I would be very grateful. ALso as i said, please bear in mind that I am pretty damn new to overclocking and while I am generally pretty pc literate compared to the average (not that that is necessarily something overly impressive) and a relatively quick learner, my knowledge of this topic is limited.

(album with a bunch of my settings and results)
I have added some pictures of my bios too so people can see what settings I have to work with.