• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Just another person having problems OCing FX 4100

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KissaXD

Registered
Hi there,

I signed up here because you people seem more fit to help me with my problem then the guys over at the other forum who tell me not to OC my CPU while browsing a forum about overclocking....

So here's my problem:

I tried to OC my FX 4100, but to be quite fair, I'm a total noob at this and kinda chicken out when my system starts herpaderping.

Anyways, I tried an OC of 4.0 and it's running more or less stable. I've had one BSOD after which I upped the voltage from 1.4125 to 1.4250. I haven't done any real stress testing. I've tried Prime95, but that program is kind of complicated + it totally failed at a 1 minute custom test. I did however do a lot of IntelBurnTests. I tried a couple of runs on Very High settings and my systems passes them perfectly. Did another one of about half an hour and this one also passed without fail.

So I kind of need a guiding hand to fine tune my system, with minimal (preferably no) risk of blowing it up.

Another problem I seem to be having is that my CPU throttles back to 3.3 gHz within 1 minute of stress testing. The only way to solve this problem is to enable and disable turbo boost in AMD Overdrive each time I turn on my computer, which annoys the crap out of me so I'm looking for a more permanent solution.

My system specs are made up of:

CASE: NZXT Phantom
MOBO: AsRock 970 Extreme4
CPU: AMD FX 4100
CPU COOLER: Mugen Scythe (heatsink + 2 fans, one sucking air, the other exhausting)
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 1.333 mHz (or at least it should be)
GPU: Ati Radeon HD 6850
PSU: Corsair TX650
2 hard discs: 1 SSD for my OS and programs and 1 HDD for games, downloads, backup, ...