• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Motherboard for workstation and gaming

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

martybaker

Registered
Hi, I am about to build a computer that is capable of doing video efiting, graphic design, and gaming. I am looking for something around $200 that will deliver solid performance. I am a noob btw.

Thanks

I think if you gave use a total budget for the build we would be able to give better suggestions .
As we can suggest alot of motherboards for 200$ but many might be different sockets .

The video editing that you will be doing do the programs use Cuda acceleration ? Or does it prefer single core cpu speed or does it like Multi cores ?

All these things will change what we suggest .

What programs do you use?

We also need to knkw what cpu you habe to give you an idea of what motherboard to get. Square peg, round holes....etc.

Thanks for the replies. I don't have a set budget, I plan on just buying the parts over the next 3 to 6 months until I have something together that I am happy with. I have not decidedkn what software to use because I have not done video editing before. I am a floorlayer by trade and I just want to add same nice graphics and short animations to videos that I post on facebook and my website if that gives you any idea.

Let us know when you are ready to purchase. The landscape will change here in a few weeks with intels new coffelake coming out. That could be for you, or ryzen... it depends. But if this is that far away, its a bit premature.

Buying now with the (little) information we have (again, what apps are you using??) Id go 7700k and z270 based.

Its hard without a budget to make good suggestions. :)

I like the AMD firepro W7000 4gb graphics card with 4 hdmi outputs. Do I need a particular motherboard to suit this?