• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Overclocker Requesting Guidance - Phenom II 920

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Propama

Registered
Hey guys,

I'm rather new to the overclocking scene, which is surprising to me because I've been an avid gamer for over a decade and have been building gaming pcs for friends and guildmates for a few years now. I suppose I've always had a hesitance about tweaking the bios and would rather just purchase an upgrade.

Well, now my budget is a lot tighter and I really can't afford to blow money on upgrades all of the time, so I'm trying to get the most that I can out of my current rig. In anticipation of Guildwars 2 I'm asking for some assistance in hopes of increasing my cpu power, since most games now a days seem to tax the processor pretty heavily.

Prior to making this post I went ahead and updated my bios - so I'm currently using the most recent version. I went ahead and read Dolk's guide as well which has given me some solid insight and I almost went ahead and just tried it myself, but I figured why not reach out for help and ensure I'm going in with the best information possible.

My goal is to try and get my processor speed from 2.8GHz to 3.2GHz (perhaps more if I can swing it).