• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED New System Build. Looking for your feedback. Starting with CPU's

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Proxish

Hey Guys,

Hope you are having a great day, and if not, I hope your day gets better. Thank you for reading this and all your advice is very much appreciated.

I'm currently building a new rig, I plan to have all parts picked over the next 12 hours. A lot of thought is going into this build as I'm a student and this is a one off build.

A bit of background, I'll keep it brief. I study Computer Art and Design. I game constantly, PlanetSide 2 being the most tasking of those, and I want a system that can handle GTA V and Watch Dogs maxed out at 1920x1080.

Obviously, the less I spend the better. I live in the UK so building this at a good price isn't going to be easy. Only decent priced websites I know are:
www.Overclockers.co.uk
www.Novatech.co.uk
www.Aria.co.uk
www.Amazon.co.uk

My absolute cap is £1500, that being roughly $2200. But like I said, that is my absolute cap and I would like to keep it around the £1000 - $1500.

So, I'm starting with CPU's and the best gaming one's I hear that are out are the 37XXK series by Intel. But I'm also quite interested in the AMD FX-8350. I've heard it is better than the i5 3750k and is also roughly £35 cheaper.

Thoughts?

Oh and I'm looking at either 2x 660's Overclocked or a 670 Overclocked.

Last edited:
If your chore is mostly gaming and task that can't exploit all 8 cores than go with Intel 3570k
If however you're rendering 3d, transcoding or rendering video than go with AMD FX 8350 is your choice, it offer a longer socket roadmap and give you better performance in these area{ the performance gap is not that much concider the clock and core count of the FX 8350 and Intel I5 3570k}