• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Not sure if my overclocking Phenom II X6 1055T is okay or not

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

honam

Hi all, I am new to overclocking and this forum as well.. so hoping if I can get some help.
I did my overclocking for the first time today. I OC'ed my AMD Phenom II X6 1055T to 3.5GHz. The PC seems to be running fine so far, then I ran the Prime95 stress test, and my cpu temperature rises to around 57C!! During idle time it runs around 34C. So the question is do I have to worry about this and reverse back my overclocking or I should be fine?

My spec:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 GHz (OC to 3.5 GHz now)
MB: Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
GPU: Gigabyte Radeon HD 6950 2GB
RAM: Kingston 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Power: Antec TP550 watt
Using standard CPU cooler

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

The Tj.Max of your processor is 99 degrees (According to CoreTemp)
I guess it's fine. But you should consider getting an aftermarket cooler if you want to do some overclocking.

I don't think TJ Max is something you should rely on with AMD CPUs. It's more meaningful with Intels.

Honam, if you are able to get a stable Prime95 stable overclock of 3.5 ghz on on a 1055T using the stock cooler with temps only hitting 57c that is pretty remarkable. But by stable I mean passing a Prime95 blend run of at least 2 hrs. Most people get the temps you quote at stock frequencies and voltages. Have you increase the CPU core voltage any?

But I agree with avok95 that an aftermarket cooler would be a good investment. What make and model case are you using? Choice of coolers may be limited if the case is under 7.5" wide.

Thanks for the reply.

Ok I will need to run the stress test longer (2hrs) tomorrow. No, I have not tried to increase any voltage, should I?

All I did was change the following: