• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Old school AMD Athlon XP temp 100'c+... why hasnt it died?!?!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FuerteStuart

Registered
Hello all,
Im currently awaiting a new PC to arrive to replace this heap of junk that i have been using for the last 5 years. Was never into OCing until i was planning to upgrade. It was that point that i installed speedfan and realised my CPU temp was hitting 105'c and that was the reason for my recent crashes. 6 months of them and slowly getting worse

I have since cleaned heat dump, put a larger fan on it and reapplied arctic silver paste, but the temp is still hitting 85'c whilst gaming.. and 72'c
What would i have to do to melt the som'bich? has anyone else had their chips running this high for this long and not suffered to much crazyness??

Dont think it was a sensor error. when i cleaned the heatsink, i had to wait 20 mins before it was cool enough to remove without burning my fingers

Hello all,
Im currently awaiting a new PC to arrive to replace this heap of junk that i have been using for the last 5 years. Was never into OCing until i was planning to upgrade. It was that point that i installed speedfan and realised my CPU temp was hitting 105'c and that was the reason for my recent crashes. 6 months of them and slowly getting worse

I have since cleaned heat dump, put a larger fan on it and reapplied arctic silver paste, but the temp is still hitting 85'c whilst gaming.. and 72'c
What would i have to do to melt the som'bich? has anyone else had their chips running this high for this long and not suffered to much crazyness??

Which core is that? Is that a Palomino?