• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking an AMD 960T

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cooperman1504

AMD+ 960T Phenom11
Asus M5A99X EVO Bios v 1208 (08/04/2012)
8GB Kingston HperX DDR3
Crucial 128gb SSD
WD 500gb 7200 sata111
AMD Sapphire HD 6870
Noctua NH-C12P SE14 Air cooler
OCZ 750W Fatality (Champion Series)

I'm quite new to overclocking but believe I have a pretty decent setup. Looking at different threads it looks like some have been able to unlock extra cores which is interesting but really not why I'm on here.

I would be very interested if anyone has had experience in overclocking this processor and based on the info on my rig what would you recommend as a decent overclock?

As I say I'm pretty new to overclocking and want to get the best advice.

Thanks in advance

yes youre chip is unlockable! (see comments)
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-Phenom II X4 960T Black Edition - HD96ZTWFK4DGR.html

how to unlock cores using ur board !
http://www.helpowl.com/p/Asus/M5A99X-EVO/Research/149842?search=m5a99x evo core unlocker

once cores are unlock go into bios and make sure all cpu power down functions are turned off such as cool n quit , turbo core, think there might be one or two others. once you get that done then ull be ready to over clock we will need a little more info on ur system like ram speed ull need to download and install cpu-z latest version so we can see what you have going on! once you download then post a screen shot of cpu-z CPU-MEMORY-& SPD tabs from cpu-z. so we can see then we can go from there

Last edited: