• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Quad-Core

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Monkey D. Luffy

Registered
Hello everyone, I'm pretty new to overclocking and have never done it before. I don't usually dab into BIOS either so i'm new there but after reading some guides it seems doable. It would be nice to get some hands on help from this forum though so I don't mess up my computer. I want to overclock my FX-4100 to most stable highest settings. Appreciate anyone who helps me :thup:

Specs:

CPU: Amd fx-4100 @ 3.6 stock

Motherboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

Video Card: Sapphire Radeon 5750 1gb 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x6 HDCP

Hard Drive: WD Caviar Blue 250gb 7200 SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"

PSU: 500w Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus RS500-PCARD3-US ATX12v v2.3

Case: Logisys Computer CS309Bk Black Atx

<-- Shows image of my entire Computer Specs Newegg format

First off, go into bios and disable Turbo, c1e, speed spectrum, c6, APM, thermal throttle... Some of these maybe be in different tabs in the bios and/or that board may not even have some of these options. Disable them all.

Leave cpu/nb frequency and HT Link to 2000mhz for now (deal with this later)
Leave RAM at 1333mhz or 1600mhz for now (deal with this later as well) set your rated timings for the ram manually and set the voltage rated for them manually as well.