• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking HD 7770 and I get BSOD code 116

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

poco242

I am VERY new to overclocking. I have always bought off the shelf PC's and upgraded when needed. I recently did my first build. It is not a high end build. Middle of the road. I do a little gaming, but games like NFS Hot Pursuit so my needs are not that great.

Anyway I have been playing around with overclocking. I have had good luck doing the CPU, (AMD Phanom II 965). I have that stable at 3.8ghz running Prime95 for a while. The last couple of days I have been messing with the graphics card through AMD overdrive. (The CPU I did through BIOIS) It is a Saphire HD 7770. Stock GPU clock is 1000mhz. I bumped it up to 1150 and boosted the memory up 150hz and the voltage up 5%. It is stable and I picked up 400 points testing on 3DMark. I tried for 1200 but get a BSOD code 116 when the test starts. The thing I do not know is on that test I had the memory clock the same as the GPU clock. Should the memory clock be higher than the GPU? Is that maybe why it crashed? I am doing this for fun. Stock it will play every game I play at max settings anyway. I do more HD video editing than games playing. It works great for that.

Any insight would be appreciated.

On most 7770's you cannot control voltage. I believe you are talking about power limit? You want to raise that to the limit.

The memory does not have any association with the core as far as speeds it needs to be set at. It simply sounds like you have an unstable clock is all.