• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PSU weak/strong

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jerryshardware

Registered
Hello,

My following question looks like more than it is.
What I know: The PSU should not be too weak, and give a PC not less power than the PC needs.

My question is: Is it also possible, that the PSU is too strong, and gives the
PC too much power?

Would a PSU, which is more powerful than required,
damage the PC?

for example: a PC which needs a 550W PSU -> could I use a 750W PSU for it without any problems?

Or should the PSU have the exact required power -> neither less NOR more?

When choosing a PSU, should I only look for the Watts (in fact, I do not know what Watt means, but the more W, the
stronger it is, right? ) ?

Please answer me, I am kind of new to these things, so I have to gain knowledge about it.
Thank you, I am happy of every single reply ;) .

Jerry you ask a good question, why because you will have many different opinions from the members here. This i stress is my own personnel view is try to get the best quality PSU you can afford. And a higher Wattage than you really need overall, by the way the system will only draw the power it needs. I.E. if you have like me a 850w PSU and your PC needs say 500w then that is what it will take. But the other side of the coin so to speak is if you have big PSU and you only draw say 50% of its capacity. In most cases your output would cleaner and more stable, because of less heat and stress on the components. But as i already stated it really depends on the QUALITY of the PSU! AJ. ;)

P.S. The ones i would say are some of the best are Seasonic,Corsair and others there is a OC Guide if you wish to look at it! :thup:

Having a PSU that can put out 1000w doesn't mean it will put out 1000w.