• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question about OC Ripjaws V 2x8 CL 16

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

EladFlopsi

Registered
Hello all!

I am new to overclocking and this forum, so please be easy on me :p

I want to OC my RAM to CL14, but I do not know what is the best settings I can try first.

So a few things I want to know (I know it was repeated several times, I am flooding my own questions and want to see that I have it right)

Just to mention, I have an Intel i5 8600K (which will also be OC'ed in the near future) and Asus Maximus X Formula.

1. If I want to put the CL to be 14, what does the number in the end stands for? like 14-14-14-X?
How do i know whats the proper "multiplier" ?

2. If I put a timing that will not go past POST, Should I reset CMOS or I could enter bios?

3. What are the best settings that do not push too much on heat (somewhere around base voltage of the sticks which is 1.35 from what I recall and checked on the manufacturer website)

4. If i wanna go CL 15, What is the "end" that I need to put?

Thank you for your help!

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

And If anyone has like screenshots of Asus BIOS to show and explain in a bit more depth that will be more than helpful!

The "x" in the string would be CR (Command Rate). It is usually set to 1 or 2. 2 would be safer bet for stability's sake. When you tighten some timings you may have to loosen others. There is a tradeoff. You may also need to give the RAM more voltage. Up to 1.5 is considered safe.

No one can give you "plug n play" timing numbers. You'll just have to experiment.