• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Sticky Needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Wipeout

There are a few key people that make the AMD support forums a great place for knowledge and help.I am a novice, but love overclocking and building pc's.My knowledge base is not as strong as some people, but I would be happy to contribute. Post after post I see people wanting to overclock, only to find out there parts are not up to par.As R-Gone stated in a previous post, PR gone wild.

Why not get together and make the ultimate sticky that explains the ins and outs to avoid confusion, and give people a sense of limitations.This could be broken down by topic with short overviews.:salute:

Last edited:
Great idea! Maybe you could start one and others could tweak/add to it.

I think we need a sticky that explains the wisdom of buying a killer CPU as the last purchase in a sequence of well-planned upgrades that build a solid foundation for good overclocking. Mostly what we get these days is people who buy an FX-8350 first and want to overclock it to 4.5 ghz on a $70 motherboard and stock cooling with a no name PSU. It gets wearisome.

Wipeout, though it would make sense to have a sticky on what boards to buy if considering X processor and/or what type of cooling would be needed. I find most people just want to come here to have their hands held.

I follow a lot of the posts in the Watercooling section where their has been tremendous amounts of work put into the "Sticky" section on how to get started and what to expect. Most of the time I see to nauseum, the same questions over and over that are all answered in the "sticky" section. Most people just don't want to do the dirty work, to figure it out on their own.