• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which rig to build?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SpazTech

I've been trying to decide now for awhile. It's my first build. I'm not planning on any serious OCing. I've got the monitor and a thermaltake case the speakers, mouse and keyboard are ordered but now I've got to start getting the guts. So which system is best(most stable)? And what parts should I get OEM instead of retail?

AMD

ASUS "A8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
MSI nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Video Card
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 – Retail
Fortron Blue Storm 500W ATX12V V2.0 Power Supply with 120mm Fan, P4 and AMD ready, Model "AX500-A"
Seagate 160GB Barracuda 7200.7 7200RPM SATA with NCQ Hard Drive
Lite-On 16X, DVD Dual Layer DVD+/-RW Drive, Model SOHW-1673S
Lite-On Black 52X32X52X16 Combo Drive, Model SOHC-5235K
ZALMAN CPU Cooler for Socket 478/A/754/939/940 With FAN Speed Controller, Model "CNPS7000B-Cu LED

INTEL

ASUS "P5GDC-V Deluxe" 915G Chipset Motherboard For Intel LGA 775
Intel LGA 775 Pentium 4 540 3.2 GHz, 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache w/ Hyper Threading Technology -
CORSAIR VALUESELECT Kit 240-Pin 1GB(2 x 512MB) DDR2 PC2-4200, Model VS1GBKIT533D2
Seagate 160GB Barracuda 7200.7 7200RPM SATA with NCQ Hard Drive, Model ST3160827AS-RK
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS PCI Sound Card, Model "SB0350"
Leadtek nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Video Card, 128MB GDDR3, 128-Bit, DVI/TV-Out, PCI-Express, With Doom 3 Model "PX6600GT-128MB"
Lite-On 16X, DVD Dual Layer DVD+/-RW Drive, Model SOHW-1673S Black
Lite-On Black 52X32X52X16 Combo Drive, Model SOHC-5235K BLACK
Logitech X-530 speaker sys.
MS intellimouse
Logitech elite keyboard
Benq fp731 17”lcd

Thanks for any input.