• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 980x slight overclock noob pls help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

reignjuste

Registered
Hi im new to overclocking and i find it very scary to overclock.I read the guide but its a little complicated.There are so many numbers that i was confused.

To tell the truth i know only some basics about overclocking but havent done anything yet.

So i was thinking if an i7 980x could just jump from 3.3 to 3.6 with no increase in volts.

I read a guide from some other site that u can increase some mhz without increasing the volts.is that right?

I'm not an Intel guru at all.

What I do know, is that you can get away with increasing the multiplier and that will cause the MHZ to increase. For example if your multiplier is set to default of 20 and your FSB (Front side bus) is at 200mhz then your chip would be running at 4Ghz.

Simple as that. If that is the default spec for that chip.

Now to your question regarding the voltage. You wouldn't have to increase the voltage on the stock settings because the chip is programmed to run at that voltage as it's able to sustain the power it needs to operate at 4GHZ

If you increase the multiplier you may or may not need to increase the voltage. It just depends on how your computer responds.

It's very important to research FIRST. . You should never increase your voltage by more than .5v at a time (unless you know what you're doing) because you can fark up your chip permanently.

If your computer doesn't boot after an increase in the multiplier its either because the voltage wasn't high enough or the chip/MB can't handle it. (or worse you went to high and you killed it :( )