• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i5-2500k Overclocking issues on Asus P8Z68-V

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kikk

Registered
Hi all, I'm new to overclocking and this is my first try to overclock a CPU.

System specs
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX560 Ti AMP 1 GB
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K 3,3 GHz LGA1155
Aftermarket Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Power Supply: Corsair TX850W V2 Enthusiast
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x4 GB 1600MHz DDR3
Hard drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 750 GB SATA 6 Gb/s
Motherboard: P8Z68-V
Case: Cooler Master 690 II Advanced

Operating system: Windows 7 64 bit
Bios version: 3402 (Newest)

First I followed Theocnoob's guide to the letter. After I got a variety of failures (including BSOD at startup, BSOD before startup, freezing after startup, prime95 BSOD and prime95 fatal rounding error), I tried increasing the voltage all the way to 1.38 with no improvements.

Then I found this guy with very similar build to mine. I mimiced the settings that got his overclock working. No luck. I even increased vcore all the way to 1.4.

Now I'm thinking I might have a hardware problem. It seems that i5 2500k doesn't support my 1600mhz Vengeance RAM. Is this causing my OC to fail?

Here are my BIOS setting. What should I change to make this OC work?

120723175658.jpg

120723175719.jpg

120723175730.jpg

120723175744.jpg

Now lets get this overclock working!

I had a co worker running those mem sticks and he got alot of bsod's @ stock settings we tried some cheap kingston sticks and no more bsod so he ordred some gskill ripjaw's and had no issues since.

Just a thought.

These setups are pretty easy to oc to 4.5 so you shouldn't be running into any issues yet.