• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1:1 confusion

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dvd_maniac

Registered
Joined
Dec 12, 2003
Location
New England, USA
I am new, and yes I tried to search for the answer to this.
but here goes...
I am going to a comp show tommorow to buy some memory. I have 2x512 samsung DDR400 sticks(not sure what model)
I want to know if I get better, faster memory(DDR500 for instance), will I be able to up the FSB without loosing 1:1 ratio?
I have a p4c800 DX
P4c 2.8 stock cooling
AIW 9700 Pro
475Watt Power Supply (should I upgrade this?)
2x120 seagate SATA raid0
2x80 WD ice100 reaid0 on promise PCI card
2 dvd burners
 

Jognt

All round good guy
Joined
Aug 24, 2003
Location
Netherlands
but, the lower the latencies ;) (not alwyas tho) there are also pc3200 (DDR400) sticks that i saw reaching high speeds too...
 

hawtrawkr

Member
Joined
May 25, 2003
Location
galesburg illinois
what type of powersupply do you have atm and why are you wondering if its enough or not? reason i ask is if your seeing your rails drop considerably you might have a cheap psu in which case a 475watt rating doesnt really mean much at all. if its a quality psu and you arent having stability problems now that psu should be able to power quite a bit and still have juice for more.
 
OP
D

dvd_maniac

Registered
Joined
Dec 12, 2003
Location
New England, USA
just bought new psu

I just bought a 550 with a couple of fans on it. Also has SATA power connectors too. Antec true is the brand.
Also bought a thermaltake tower with 7 case fans, 2 512 Corsair xms 3500 ram chips and a new heatsink for the P4 2.8c (tornado I think) I hope this will all help...:cool:
 
OP
D

dvd_maniac

Registered
Joined
Dec 12, 2003
Location
New England, USA
another question if I may

I was wondering if I could get better overclocking results if I had 4 512 Corsairs XMS3500 instead of two, or would that actually hinder it?
 

hawtrawkr

Member
Joined
May 25, 2003
Location
galesburg illinois
i dont think adding more ram would help the oc anymore it may hinder it a bit though putting more strain on the northbridge but im not 100% on that.

i hear alot of people say they get higher mem bandwith scores with 2 256 sticks compared to 2 512 but ive never checked the diffrences myself. think the big advantage you get is when you go from one stick to 2 in a dual channel mode