• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

a simple folding question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Molybdym

I started folding 2 weeks ago for Team 32, and love it. I found out last week that my dad's sick again :confused: (four years since the last round). My question is, why does my folding client process the same projects? I let it run while I'm at work and sleeping, I've seen it coplete "p610_tetP30_build_ext" a complete of times, same with p185. Like I said, I'm new to this(and possibly too lazy to read the FAQ on Stanford's site ;) ), what can I do to work on different projects?

Now it's personal

Really nothing you do with FAH can't determine what project you work on. The assignment servers will send out what projects Stanford wants to have worked on at the time. You can influence the assignment sever by telling it you want either Genome or Folding units, but if there are no servers on the desired project, it'll send you whatever is available.

Stanford needs to make sure that they get results that will be helpful, if 5 million people do a WU and they each do it 5 times, it is possible that each time they will finish the WU and send back different data each time. Stanford can then have a broad range of data to study. But, lets say they gets lots of data back that is the same, they can then say, he we havea common theme going here, let's see what going on and that would help also.

Like Garwain said, no real choices between units, but it is vital for stanford to get lots of data on all WU's.

FOLD ON
NAS

Last edited:
Molybdym said:
I see now, thanks a lot guys.

np!!!

hey what part of NC are you from, i am from Elizabeth City myself, i know charles in in New Bern and there are many others from NC too! so where ya at? :)

FOLD ON
NAS