• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Am I going in the right direction?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

n3xu5

Hi everyone, to be straight forward i have no experience in water cooling. However i feel that i'm prepared to take my first step into my own water cooling journey, and i hope the out come will be worth the effort i plan to put into it.

Currently, i'm posting on this forum looking for suggestions, comments, and opinions as any advice/help will be much appreciated. I've read a lot of reviews for different parts, kits, and water cooling accessories and feel that i have a good beginner knowledge of it all. I can even say i know what proteteia is :) too bad i'll never be able to dish out 1000+ bucks for one of those bad boys.

I've come to my own conclusion that a premade kit would not be for me as i am a computer enthusiast whom loves to do things himself. I also realise that nearly all premade kits have a drawback or a flaw in some sort of way. Be it minor even, its still a flaw nevertheless. I would rather buy the parts myself individually and then construct my own setup myself with a insight of what i build will be better than any kit out there right now with the exception of some professional prometeia setup ;p

First i'd like to ask a few questions if anyone would be willing to give an answer:

#1. Most of the time for kit and product reviews, i see full load temps around 35-40 degrees celcius, does a self built kit have the ability to push the temp lower around 20-30 degrees celcius?

#2. What advantage does a thermoelectic cooling water block (ex: Swiftech MCW462-UHT) have over basic water block (ex: Swiftech MCW5000-A) and which seems to be the best choice as where price isnt an issue?

#3. Whats the purpose of a pump switch relay and is it absolutely required?