• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA V & i5-3570K OC Temp/Voltage Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FeeLX

Hello everyone,

I'm new to overclocking and to this forum but i just wanted to ask if my OC is solid and what you guys think about my temperatures and voltage. I used the Auto OC feature of the ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA V with the newest BIOS available.

Here are some pics. First i tried to OC to 4,2 and prime95 was running 2hrs and it was stable.

1p1uj7.png

then i tried 4,4 and it was like this:

img-20170914-wa0064q5ukt.jpeg

i thought these temps like 87°C degrees are a little too high so i decreased it again on 4,2 where it runs solid. Does anyone have some advice how i can lower the temps on 4,4? I have an Alpenföhn Brocken Cooler on top of the CPU so it should cool pretty well. I hope you can help me with this. Thank you.

I would not use the auto OC .
Do it manual , most quick settings and programs use a higher voltage than needed so it is stable for a larger range of CPUs.

87 isnt really to high , and you will NEVER see those temps in anything else beside P95 .

If you try Aida64 should give you a beter Idea of what your temps will be when gaming / encoding .

I would not use the auto OC .
Do it manual , most quick settings and programs use a higher voltage than needed so it is stable for a larger range of CPUs.

87 isnt really to high , and you will NEVER see those temps in anything else beside P95 .

If you try Aida64 should give you a beter Idea of what your temps will be when gaming / encoding .

thanks for your fast answer, any advice at how i should do a manual OC step by step? Should i just put -0.100V in the bios settings and check if its still stable?